Thanks for visiting my hair products blog. What I do here is examine & review organic / natural hair products. For those that don’t know me, or haven’t been to one of my other blogs, I am a 16+ year beauty industry professional, ABCH member, examiner, and the only organic educator in the organization. I own what is the first organic / non-toxic salon in Naples, Florida, Raw Hair Organic Salon. I have been internationally trained, was part of Inter-coiffure, a Broadway stylist on the hit show 42nd Street,  and hold college degrees in accounting and business. Those things aside, I am uniquely qualified as a hair product reviewer, as in 2007-ish I created my own full line of organic / natural salon quality products that you may have heard of, Raw Hair Organics. I was hands-on in all phases of R&D, formulation, etc. Thus, that is also my Full-Disclosure statement as well. However, I stake my years of industry integrity on writing honest, unbiased, professional reviews. I guarantee that you will never read a review of mine that stinks of bias. That’s just not my style, and my name and reputation in the beauty industry depends on that. I started this review blog because, frankly, I couldn’t find anywhere that had PROFESSIONAL, unbiased reviews from CREDIBLE, educated sources (if you’ve done any searching on Youtube for product reviews, you know what I’m getting at). This is solely done for informational purposes only. I do not work for, nor am I paid by any hair products manufacturer other than my own (which I already disclosed). All products that I review were purchased BY ME with MY OWN MONEY. None were given to me.

So, this week I am reviewing Burt’s Bees Super Shiny Grapefruit & Sugar Beet Conditioner. If you are not familiar with Burt’s Bees, they are a company that calls itself an “Earth friendly, natural personal care products company”. Their products are easy to find, with over 30,000 retail outlets nation-wide. Every product has a “natural bar” on the label, which tells you what percentage of natural ingredients are in it. I like that a lot. However, it’s not organic, and it does not appear to use organic ingredients. Just to ease my own mind, I went online to their website and searched in the FAQ area about my organic ingredient question. To my dismay, it’s not even addressed there. At all. Or anywhere, really. That was disappointing, not just that it doesn’t have organic ingredients in it, but by not answering that straight-forward question on their own company website is disheartening to say the least. I know, and I know they know, that the “organic” question is on everyone’s mind, especially people who are new to the Green lifestyle. So, as a company, be up-front and honest: Put the question and the answer on the company FAQ page. If you don’t have organic ingredients, that’s fine. Just TELL your customers that, and don’t leave them guessing.

As far as ingredients, there are a number of good ones in this product. According to the label, the product is 98.2% natural,  which is great. It contains lots of oils like grapefruit seed oil, orange peel oil, tangerine oil, and lemon oil, among others which are beneficial in giving the shine.  It also uses betaine from sugar beets that prevent dehydration so therefore keeping moisture in the hair which is good….if you don’t have fine hair.  Again, it is difficult to have one product for all hair types because there are different needs due to the varying degrees of cuticle layers and levels of protein and moisture.  This conditioner is great for hair like mine that is thick, dry, and coarse because it makes it soft and shiny and feels like it has a layer of oil on it.  People with fine hair though would not be happy because it would totally weigh their hair down.

Again, I did not personally care for the smell of the product.  With all the citrus oils, I expected it to have a wonderful, fresh, uplifting smell, but found it a bit odd.  Maybe it was due to the combination of all of those with an added synthetic fragrance.

We measured the PH to be 3.9 which is within a good range for conditioner.

I give the super shiny conditioner a rating of 3 out of 5.

If you are new to natural / organic hair products, or need to look for something with a lower price, I think this Burt’s Bees product is a good start for you. It’s not top-of-the-line, but it’s not $20 a bottle either. For $9 a bottle, I think it’s certainly worth a try.

If you are looking for Organic / non-toxic hair color reviews, please visit my other blog at:   http://www.organichaircolorreview.com

Until next time, here’s to good, healthy hair and good, healthy hair stylists.

Melanie

